Well, What Can I Say? *shrug* Destiny Happens…

A common misconception is that “Soul Mate” means “romantic partner for life.”  Actually, matters of the soul aren’t always romantic and “mate” doesn’t always mean sex.  A “soul mate,” by its most basic definition, is “one that is energetically, unconditionally connected with another.”  It can even be your worst nemesis, as well as your best friend.

Case in point:

In June 2000, I did my annual-ritual birthday reading.

I was hitting the big 3-0, in the midst of a rather nasty Saturn return, so I anticipated some really deep information to come through.  Of course, knowing what a trial it is to read for yourself, I kept my handbooks and references handy just in case but the cards (Rider Waite deck) might as well have been sky-written in English:

2 of Cups, Magician, 4 of Wands, The Chariot, King of Cups

I was like, “Wha?”  So, I shuffled shuffled shuffled and did them again:

2 of Cups, 2 of Wands, the Chariot, 8 of Wands, King of Cups, The World

I was astounded.  I thought I was on Candid Camera!  There I was, in the midst of spirit diving into the pains of my past, in an identity crisis, during a deep chemical shift and the cards are telling me that I’m going to meet my lifelong Soul Mate.  Not only meet him but soon.  Really soon.  Don’t get me wrong, as lovely as the prospect sounded, I thought the timing was terrible.  How on earth was I supposed to put my trust and intimacy issues aside, welcome, and find stability with someone when I’m full of earthquakes?

Well, two weeks later, the cards proved to be absolutely right.

And here he is…

This is my Khukla.

Also known as “Baby,” “Baby Boy,” “Chicken Boy,” “the Pimp,” (he loves girls!) “Sir Poops-a-Lot,” and “Captain Distract-o.”  He is a healthy, happy little jendaya conure and is the center of my Universe. He was my 30th birthday present from my sisters and as it happened, he picked me.

Pretty majickal having some cute little harlequin meatball on birdie legs follow you around the breeder house… Once I picked him up and looked into his preciousness, he leaned forward and gave me kisses.  That was it.  We’ve been a package deal since.

Hey, the cards said, “Your soul mate’s comin’.”  They didn’t say anything about him being human!

Believe me, I was just as surprised as you are.  But, there he is!  He makes me laugh, he kisses my tears away, he doesn’t ask for anything he doesn’t need, he loves my attention, cries when I leave, and calls me Mama.  He does “Look Out” while I meditate and helps me during ritual, too, by dancing towards the directions.  He loves it when I sing to him and he sings back.

Just looking at his beautiful plumage and big eyes makes the world a better place every day.

He teaches me to bring out and never be ashamed of my true colors.  He shows me what real unconditional love is. He’s always curious about his surroundings and finds wonder in the littlest things. He expresses his affection freely and takes his space when he needs some “Khukla Time.”

He shows me that being good brings good things but being a little naughty sometimes keeps things interesting.

He shows me that no matter how little you are, if you think you can take on a big, bad maintenance guy, then you puff out your chest, squawk really extra loud, go for it and dive bomb!  When you have made your conquest, seek your just reward — in this case, turn to your Mama, look up at her with your big brown eyes, and say, “Good boy!  Baby good boy!”

The “Tao of Khuk” teaches that one should earn one’s pop tarts.

Khukla was hatched on May 11, 2000.  Tomorrow he turns 11, on the 11th, 2011.  You don’t have to be a numerologist to appreciate the significance of the pattern…

Although I admit I’m a little biased, anyone can tell you he’s no ordinary little bird. (Granted, anyone would have to be pretty special to put up with me!)  But, love me he does, regardless of where I am, what I’m doing, and which mood I’m in, whenever.  He heals me, humors me, and humbles me.

Everyone’s looking for a miracle or a hero.  Their “destiny.”  Thanks to this little guy, I learned that it  actually does happen.

Just don’t expect the miracle to be obvious.

Happy Birthday, Chicken!  You’re the most wonderful gift EVER, my little “soul mate.” Goddess bless you.  Love, The Mama


About T. Ray

Writer, visual artist, musician, divinationist, playwright, and "armchair nutritionist." She currently resides in Vegas with her jenday conure, is a member of the Society of Professional Journalists and is pursuing her Master's in Journalism/Media Studies. All things come down to food and Star Wars. Contact: contact@theblacksiren.com
This entry was posted in Energy, Goddess, Ms Ray, Relationships, tarot and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Well, What Can I Say? *shrug* Destiny Happens…

  1. Heather says:

    Happy birthday to Mr. Captain Distracto! What a beautiful post. ❤

    Like

  2. fisswhisp says:

    Because i deal in petty cooincidences, I’ll just say that while I was reading this the song “You make me better” came on and some crows cawed along to it for a second.

    Like

Leave a Reply

