You’re the Psychic – Make it Happen!

No way in, no way out...

I’m a divinationist, not a sorceress.

But, somehow, sometimes, I think my clients can’t tell the difference, especially when it comes to relationships. You know who I’m talking about: “I know he’s my soul mate! When is he going to finally leave his wife?” and “When am I gonna meet my husband because I’m sick of dating. And I don’t wanna go out or go on the internet. When’s he coming?”

And if my cards don’t match what’s in their heads…

Goddess, I dread these calls.

These are people calling out of anger, heartbreak, and frustration and are completely in denial. They’re operating on pure emotion and there’s nothing anyone can say or do – not even tell them what they want to hear – to relieve their present state of mind.  Should you confirm their beliefs, you get the “parrot reflex”:

Me: “It looks like he is genuinely attracted to you.”

Client: “Are you sure?”

Me: “Yes, the cards are confirming it.”

Client: “He likes me?”

Me: “Yes, it certainly looks that way.”

Client: “Are you sure?”

Me: “Yes…[point out the specific cards and placement and explain] he does like you.”

Client: “He likes me?”

Swear, I’m not kidding.  I can’t make this stuff up.

So, when the record starts to skip, I very gingerly ask, “I’m sorry, but, I feel as if what I’m saying is not acceptable to you.  Is it that you don’t believe what I’m saying or am I not communicating your answer effectively?” Then, I’ll kinda joke, “Or do you just like the sound of me saying it?”  I usually get a pause and an “I don’t know.”

But, it’s not enough to confirm or deny what they’re looking for.  When they call, it’s like I’m supposed to be *Ursula, in “The Little Mermaid,” and these people want to be turned into a human because they know they’re meant to be with their prince.  But, instead of accepting that all I can give them is information, they expect me to wave my tentacles into my majick cauldron, call to the winds, and change their fins into legs…

But, they’d bitch because they can’t swim.

"Sorry, Sweetcakes. I just have cards. My cauldron's in the shop."

Truth scares these people to death.  If it’s negative, they can blame it on the psychic because he/she refuses to make it possible (as if we could) and if it’s positive, they may have to choose to break out of the perfection of their fantasy world.

They’ve already doomed themselves and I can’t tell them so.  These people don’t want a reading. They’re looking for hope they really don’t think actually exists.

Think about it, if they were truly confident in their beliefs, would they be calling me in the first place?

It’s that simple.

I’ve made the mistake of trying once or twice to help them realize how stuck they are and I’ve regretted it every time.  Even if the client thanks you and is gracious, be assured you will still find a bad rating or a complaint in your inbox and that’s just salt in the wound.

It’s bad enough to hear a client in pain.  It’s bad enough to witness a client so enshrouded in darkness, thinking it’s light. It’s bad enough to try to communicate with these people, delicately balancing the truth on eggshells, while banging on the hamster ball they’re running in to try to get their attention. But, to have my integrity and reputation tarnished for my exhausted and genuine efforts?  It may be unprofessional of me, but I can’t help but feel a little hurt.

Yeah, I know it’s par for course.  Most professionals are aware of this phenomenon, I know. Just like restaurant service people know that sometimes they’ll get a crappy tip.  Still, maybe it’s because I’m a Cancer and I’m sensitive or maybe, par for course or not…you know? It sucks.

It’s like being grounded because I couldn’t answer, “Does this dress make me look fat?”

But, in all seriousness, those complaints and notches on our ratings affect our livelihood.  No joke.  It’s a no-win situation for everyone, especially for the caller who’s snowblinded and will never move forward, have what they need, learn their true worth, and make real dreams come true until they wake up.

I had a client a few weeks ago, one of these “obsessives” and I picked up on it immediately.  I told him before the reading got started, “Sir, you have obviously already convinced yourself of all the answers. How can I help you?”

“He’s my soul mate! I know it! So, when are we getting together?”

“Well, sir –”

“He loves me, too, right?”

“Sir, please, if you could please try to breathe so I can connect with –”

“HE LOVES ME, RIGHT?!”

“Sir, please I –”

“Are you saying he doesn’t?”

“Sir, I didn’t say anything. Please, if you could –”

“Oh my god, are you saying he doesn’t love me?  Because, THAT CAN’T BE TRUE!!  Is that what you’re saying?”

“Sir, no I did not — ”

“So, he does!”

“Sir, please allow –” *click*

He hung up.

After I put down the phone and took some deep, cleansing breaths, I laid out three cards just to see, out of curiosity:

2 of Cups. The Devil.  10 of Swords.

Goddess.

My rating will survive.  This guy’s heart, though…?


About T. Ray

Writer, visual artist, musician, divinationist, playwright, and "armchair nutritionist." She currently resides in Vegas with her jenday conure, is a member of the Society of Professional Journalists and is pursuing her Master's in Journalism/Media Studies. All things come down to food and Star Wars. Contact: contact@theblacksiren.com
This entry was posted in Ms Ray, psychic, psychic business, tarot and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to You’re the Psychic – Make it Happen!

  1. Fear drives them and they cannot hear you because of it!

    Like

    • Ms. Ray says:

      Oh, you hit the nail on the head there, friend!
      To have fear is one thing — I mean, we all have it now and again, sure — but when denial comes into play, you may as well be reading Dr. Seuss to a brick wall. It hurts everyone.
      And all my calls were like that tonight, too.
      I so appreciate you hanging with me! 🙂

      Like

  2. Laurie says:

    These people probably need more of a counselor than a psychic Ms. Ray! 🙂 But you seem to know that! Don’t let them shake your faith in yourself (and it doesn’t look like you are! You’ve put it in proper perspective. 🙂

    I think people don’t realize a lot of things, including they can change the future even after you tell them what they see… It in a way gives them power over the “dreaming” of their lives.

    Like

  3. I just discovered your blog. I love it! What deck is your 10 of Swords card from? I don’t recognize it .( I am a tarotholic!)

    Like

    • Ms. Ray says:

      Yay! Thanks so much! Welcome welcome!
      Apparently, (and unfortunately), this card isn’t from an actual deck, but is an original piece of art by a very talented Dave Palumbo. Go check him out: davepalumbo.deviantart.com

      Thanks again and feel free to heckle anytime!

      Like

  4. John Ellison says:

    This post brought to mind one of the … no, actually, I think it was THE first reading I did for someone I didn’t know. She was 17 or so, worked at a department store and was “in love” with this 30-something guy she worked with. She refused to believe me that he didn’t actually “love” her and was only interested in one thing and would never leave his wife for her. That was a kind of messy reading. Luckily she didn’t yell or anything (we were at a coffee bar). But she told me I was wrong in no uncertain terms.

    That was when I started to learn that you just can’t worry about pleasing everyone. That was when I started to learn that I’m doing this to deliver the message the person NEEDS to hear, not what they want to hear. The majority of the time, this works out pretty good and people are good with it. Well, they at least accept that’s the case most of the time as I explain it at the beginning of the reading. As Rick Nelson sang; “But it’s all right now, I’ve learned my lesson well, You see, you can’t please everyone, so you’ve got to please yourself.” It just doesn’t work out well for me to not deliver the message I “receive” from the cards and/or my guides and/or the client’s guides or passed family members or whoever. I can’t change the message, or ignore it, because it messes ME up.

    Oh, the girl. I did get a short e-mail from her a couple of weeks later. The guy dumped her the moment she started talking about “love” and him leaving his wife. Odd that …

    Like

    • Ms. Ray says:

      Oh my Goddess, that’s like getting your feet wet in the river Styx! How horrible.

      I’m glad it didn’t discourage or deter you from pursuing your passion. So, figuring it this way: If you can deal with that, then hey, you’re golden!

      Like

      • John Ellison says:

        There have been a few other difficult readings over the years, that’s for sure. People who deny the truth (especially when it’s about them), the ones who get a reading on something that needs to be changed, then come back the next day wanting another reading on the same thing (me; “uh, you’ve got to give the situation time to change … it’s not going to change in 12 hours. Go work on it & come back next week.”) Then there’s the ones who get angry because of what you’ve told them. It is why I was prompted quite a few years ago to create a spread on just these kinds of “readings gone wrong”.

        Hmm … maybe that’s something else I can contribute to your Psychic Episodes page … some of the Tarot spreads I use. Might make for some interesting discussions …

        Like

  5. Ms. Ray says:

    I would absolutely love, appreciate, and very much welcome that contribution, Mr. John. I look forward to it — Thanks!! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

