Damn, I Thought We Were Past This!

I believe art and expression is ineffective if it’s not selfish.

I write what I would want to read and what is important to me.  My train keeps moving and is welcome for everyone to come aboard (or dismount) at any given stop.  Of course, nothing fulfills me more than knowing something I create, whatever it is, has an effect on the community-at-large and I think I can safely speak for any artist on that point.

I know I’m not the greatest writer in the world – I’m no Poe.  But, I love what I do I’d like to think that love rubs off on my work, if not anything else.

In other words, I know I’m not everyone’s cup of tea, for sure, but I don’t think I’m undrinkable…

Last month, I published a post called, “You’re The Psychic – Make it Happen!” which discusses how some clients believe a psychic’s information actually affects their circumstances.  Any and every professional divinationist in the world has experienced this!  It’s a very challenging position and I thought worthy of note.  Some of my colleagues and readers agreed with me.

Apparently over 75% of my regular audience did not.

“That’s unnerving,” I thought, as I looked at my stats which resembled something like the US economy.  What on earth did I say or do to cause such an exodus in my following? I’m human, I’m not infallible!  Sometimes I do dumb things, so  I checked my language – didn’t see anything unusual.  I checked my content, thinking maybe something I wrote was misinterpreted by a grammatical error.  Possibilities are endless.  I checked and checked and I couldn’t see anything out of the ordinary from any of my other posts except for one thing:

I used an anonymous example from a session with  gay client to illustrate a point.

My gut wrenched and my first thought was, “No way.  Please tell me this has nothing to do with it.”  But, I don’t believe in coincidences and I do happen to be a psychic.

Did we not come far enough politically and socially that I can freely and comfortably state that the gay community are a part of my daily life?  Even after all the protests and legislature and George Takei, is it still not okay to speak of them as if they’re…real?

Homosexuality is not an invention of J.R.R. Tolkien!

Yes, I read for gays, lesbians, and transgendered —  and blacks, whites, straights, Christians, Pagans, democrats, republicans,  Canadians, South Americans, poor, rich, single, married, in-between, and…yes, Everyone because everyone needs answers, sometimes. Every member of the human race needs love, guidance, and care, regardless who you sleep with or what you look like.   These are my brothers, my sisters, my friends, and my family.

And anyone can be just as sweet, funny, mean, quiet, boisterous, inconspicuous, romantic, kind, and crazy as anyone else, too!

The WORLD is my neighborhood and I am VERY proud to be an Equal Opportunity Psychic!

And my neighborhood affects me, which therefore affects my art and expression.  Yeah, losing readers sucks.  It does.  But, most assuredly, believe me, I would much prefer the loss be due to something more personal, you know? My language, my themes, my subjects, my composition, my face, whatever.  That’s fine.  I have a clue as to who I am and I keep learning, so if one can’t accept my package and the properties contained therein, I know I’ll still be okay.

But to turn away because of my neighbors and my openness to accept and embrace them?  My second thought was, “Goddess, please let me be wrong.”

I will not delete or change the piece in any way, nor will I apologize for not doing so.  I think the subject of the “You’re the Psychic…” piece is significant enough to discuss, regardless of what example I use to drive the point.  If there are readers that cannot see past the characters to hear the plot, then Goddess bless them and may they find peace on their travels.

And I wish for all of them to be accepted and embraced the same…the way we all should be.

About T. Ray

Writer, visual artist, musician, divinationist, playwright, and "armchair nutritionist." She currently resides in Vegas with her jenday conure, is a member of the Society of Professional Journalists and is pursuing her Master's in Journalism/Media Studies. All things come down to food and Star Wars. Contact: contact@theblacksiren.com
This entry was posted in humanity / expression, Ms Ray, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Damn, I Thought We Were Past This!

  1. KD Sarge says:

    For what it’s worth, I rather think you rock.

    Like

  2. tarotdude says:

    Ms Ray – As being a gay man myself, I have to say that I appreciate this post! Yeah – one would that that we would be beyond these kinds of attitudes in this day & age – especially in the Tarot/divination community which tends to attract more open-minded folks. But there are always a few….. although 75% of your readership is a bit astounding – yikes!
    I agree with KD – you indeed, do rock! 🙂

    Like

  3. So many folk are posting that their numbers are down..could some of it be related to that? Lots of us still here..keep writing we will keep readi g!
    Chris

    Like

    • Ms. Ray says:

      Oy, I’d like to hope not.
      This is one of the few cases you can say a divinationist actually hopes to be wrong!!
      You’re so awesome! Thanks so, so much!!

      Like

  4. Rory says:

    Morning Ms Ray – You’ll always have this reader. Regardless of the words – it’s the integrity, overall character and style of your writing as well as your personality which keeps me here. Always will. Should I ever disagree with you (which thus far I haven’t) then I hope we can disagree with a giggle and a cup of coffee.

    Rory.

    Like

    • Ms. Ray says:

      Mr. Rory – You are indeed a gift.
      And I do declare that a disagreement with you would be a delightful experience!
      “Thy cup overfloweth,” indeed.
      CHEERS!!

      Like

  5. Laurie says:

    Ms Ray,
    I love your posts, your honesty, your writing style! I’m going to keep reading!
    Some day we’ll see the need to work on ourselves and quit judging others based on color or sexual-orientation!
    I love your work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

