I Am Woman. Don’t Fight Me.

Do I threaten you?

Does my intellect and strength remind you that you are not entirely necessary, but may just simply be wanted?  Are you so frightened by your own question of identity and place that you feel it necessary to strike me down like a common bully…?

Does the idea of our child having an exclusive bond with me forever, for good or ill, simply because of a biological connection that long outstretches yours after conception hurt your feelings? Or does it bother you that I don’t exactly need your penis to bring me to orgasm? Perhaps, you subconsciously believe you may be inferior because everyone has an “x” chromosome…

Don’t you think it’s rather silly to take that all so personal?

Does calling someone a derogatory name for my genitalia make you feel special, even fortunate? I wonder if you go to bed at night thanking some god you don’t have a “c**t.”

Do I threaten you? Truly?

Because I should.

I can take your job and do it just as well or possibly better.

I can raise your children without you.

I can run your country, learn and teach, manage your finances, turn you on, build your homes, pave your roads, organize your businesses, protect and fight for your freedom, and make brave, constructive decisions without your consultation any place, any time.

And I even have the capability to make more money than you, too, if you’d allow me to.

And oh yes…I can fight you! My collective voice and power can defeat any fool who tries to tear me down to the point of uselessness and you must know this to be true because  obviously, I threaten you or else you wouldn’t attack me so.

Yes, you should be threatened.

I am the embodiment of the Moon. Ever present, everywhere, belonging to everyone, full of force, ever evolving through phases, and I raise the tides upon Earth and body.  My blood and tears are the soil of this world. I am bestowed the gift of Creation and all the tools to nurture everything I put forth.

Don’t fight me.

You don’t have to. Truly, if you seek your place then perhaps, just bring me what I need and protect me as I fulfill my role and in turn, I will give you Life in every way.

Embody the Sun, the Animator — the immortal star that sheds its burning grace and light.  Shine upon me! Share these treasures with me.

Don’t fight me.

Love me.

No matter how hard you try to beat me down – hit me, rape me, force me to bear my children to your satisfaction without my say, imprison me, endanger my health, silence my voice, keep me poor, work me harder — trust me, I will endure and I can fight back. I intend, I CAN, and I will win my rights to live as a healthy, happy human being.

I can also still Love you…even with a broken heart.

So, don’t fight me, honor me. Treasure me. Respect me, care for me, hear my voice, work with me, and stand with me.

Love me.

I would for you.

About T. Ray

Writer, visual artist, musician, divinationist, playwright, and "armchair nutritionist." She currently resides in Vegas with her jenday conure, is a member of the Society of Professional Journalists and is pursuing her Master's in Journalism/Media Studies. All things come down to food and Star Wars. Contact: contact@theblacksiren.com
This entry was posted in Energy, Goddess, humanity / expression, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Am Woman. Don’t Fight Me.

  1. Ginny says:

    Heartfelt and strong. Thank you, woman, sister, friend.

    Like

  2. chronicdatingchronicles says:

    Loved it. Especially with International Womens Day yesterday!
    *fist in the air*

    Like

  3. Ms. Ray says:

    Blessed Be, friends!! )O(
    xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

