The Bee in Ray’s Bonnet: Kids Aren’t Just “Chick Magnets”

It may be just a date to you…

I usually don’t like to get political on my blog here, but I do realize that it’s been a little while since my last post and I apologize. Psychic Episodes is my forum for reaching out and when I don’t write, I feel I’m doing a universal disservice.

I’ve been preoccupied…

There are a bunch of relevant topics that I’d love to write about, but I’ve got this nagging issue that’s been driving me nuts: Kids pics featured on online dating sites.

I know it’s not a “hot topic” like gay marriage or the use of the word VAGINA, but, with all the hoopla about protecting fetuses, we somehow (VAGINA) seem to forget to focus on the kids that are already here. There’s not a whole lot in this world that really gets my dander up, but when it comes to ignorant behavior that creates precarious situations which can potentially exploit or hurt the innocent, I’m sorry, I can’t stay quiet.

It’s no secret that I use online dating services (forget it, I’m not gonna tell you which ones) and so do millions of others. It’s no longer taboo or embarrassing, but rather the norm to go “boy/girl shopping” as an alternative to getting out and making eye contact. Of course, at my age, most of the members of my generation are proud papas and they’ll make a special note of how much they love their kids – which is awesome! Gotta love the man who loves his kids.

But, then I look at profile after profile and I can’t help but ask, “If you love them, then why are you risking their lives?” 

Being online is risky enough as it is — hell, meeting anyone anywhere is risky enough as it is! Everyone’s got a twinkle in their eye and a purr in their voice, so to speak, when you first meet them and it takes instinct and watchfulness to read between the lines to see the wolf in sheep’s clothing. Sometimes, the sheep are really sheep and the wolves have no problem bearing their fangs, but it’s a special kind of evil that wears a smile and calls you their friend.

Fact — It’s not just consenting adults looking for other consenting adults perusing the dating sites…

Granted, there’s more good than bad out there, though the cynics may disagree. But, we’ve all heard enough horror stories about rapists luring unsuspecting, romance-seeking women into their lairs and women cleaning out the wallets of the horny and hubby hopefuls. But, have we forgotten the child molesters who strike up the trust with the loving mommy or daddy just to get closer to their babies?

There is no rational or plausible reason for anyone to post pictures of their children on a dating site.

I know most of the proud parents just want to show off the best things in their lives, but what they’re actually doing is giving the shark a better look at the food. What other type of person would be intrigued to date you because your children are beautiful? If someone wants to get to know you better, they’re going to want to know more about you – your personality, your ethics, your interests, and your face. YOU. (Which is hopefully what you’d want, anyway, right?)

Besides, wouldn’t it be more meaningful to share those photos with someone special? Someone you’ve developed a trust with? Save those pictures as you would save your VAGINA — for the right person at the right time.

Pedophilia sucks.

I am currently composing a petition to appeal to the administrators of the major online dating sites to implement a “no kid photo” policy to help make people more aware of the dangers and to help protect the unsuspecting kids who have no clue that their faces are being admired by thousands of strangers…

Once I get this out of my system, I’ll be able to lighten up.

Thanks for the rant.

Goddess bless. (VAGINA!)

About T. Ray

Writer, visual artist, musician, divinationist, playwright, and "armchair nutritionist." She currently resides in Vegas with her jenday conure, is a member of the Society of Professional Journalists and is pursuing her Master's in Journalism/Media Studies. All things come down to food and Star Wars. Contact: contact@theblacksiren.com
This entry was posted in Energy, humanity / expression, Ms Ray, Relationships and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

