CNN iReport: Headbangers and The Witch Hunters

Yup! This was me. Wish to Goddess, I was wearing an Iron Maiden shirt instead of a KISS. (I had just seen their show the night before...)

Yup! This was me. Wish to Goddess I was wearing an Iron Maiden shirt instead of a KISS. (I had just seen their show the night before…)

Hi, all! 

So, I was checking the news with my coffee, as per usual, and found CNN posted this iReport assignment: “Life in the early 1980s: Style and politics,” a subject very near, dear, and relevant in the book of Ray, so there was no way I could pass this up! Though quite a deviation from my usual subject material, it was a great writing experience. I’m glad I took the opportunity.

And who knows? With enough iReport supporters, this could be vetted, so…hey, Enjoy!

Many blessings,
Ray

http://ireport.cnn.com/docs/DOC-1030707

*** 9/4/2013 UPDATE:

CNN vetted and accepted “Living Metal” as an official iReport and was included in their front page feature, September 6, 2013. Thanks everyone!

http://www.cnn.com/2013/09/06/living/80s-style-politics-crossfire-irpt/

CNN PRODUCER NOTE     MsRayV fell in love with heavy metal music in the 1980s. Heavy metal was one genre of music that was under fire at that time by Tipper Gore and others, and it was a topic of discussion on ‘Crossfire’ when Frank Zappa was a guest on the show. The iReporter believed it to be an issue of free specech. As for how she has changed since that time, ‘I’ve become a lot less angry and more objective as I’ve grown older. When you’re judged so readily, so quickly, and so harshly for so long, it’s hard not to become more empathetic. My tastes haven’t changed and I’ll never use hairspray again. But, my appreciation and gratitude to be able to enjoy and share the music I love freely has definitely grown. In fact, my appreciation for all arts, even the forms and mediums I may not understand or cannot connect with at all, has grown. So therefore, I’d like to believe I have, too. I feel much more connected today than I ever have. With that, I’ve become much more proactive in advocating the protection of this precious freedom so that we all may never take it for granted again.’ 
– hhanks, CNN iReport producer

About T. Ray

Writer, visual artist, musician, divinationist, playwright, and "armchair nutritionist." She currently resides in Vegas with her jenday conure, is a member of the Society of Professional Journalists and is pursuing her Master's in Journalism/Media Studies. All things come down to food and Star Wars. Contact: contact@theblacksiren.com
This entry was posted in humanity / expression, Ms Ray, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

