Life as a Metalhead Priestess

c2fbf07678696ee3ac01e8c738f95061

“How can you believe in the peace and light of the Goddess and listen to that loud, angry stuff?”

“Wait a minute, I thought you said Wicca has nothing to do with the devil?”

“Fuck, I thought you were a Metalhead. What are you doing talking about that karmic and peace and vegetarian…shit, thing? I don’t get it.”

I get it from both sides. Happens all the time. But, just as one can belong to more than one club, be made up of more than just one race, I, as well as countless other Priestesses and Priests, can belong to more than one coven.

gaialaussel2I belong to the Goddess, all of Her 10,000 faces and the enigmatic presence of the creative force of the Grand Creator. I belong to a world of Nature and my temple is everywhere I go, because She is everywhere I go. I do as I will, with my best not to harm anyone. I feel connected, a part of a greater design and She, being the Ancient Mother, is in everything I am, everything I do, everything I touch, and everything connected to me. I am Her priestess, therefore, Her ambassador and instrument. And with this, She brings out the best in me.

I belong to the Goddess because She empowers me.

mosh-pit1And I am a Metalhead. I belong in the concert halls with the amps turned up to 11, making my ears bleed. I belong to a sister/brotherhood that makes no apologies for who or what we are, regardless of our sex, age, shape, size, beliefs, or hair length. I belong to a network of fighters, individualists, and rebels. I belong to a community of fearlessness and music that sears up your spine and rips open your soul and you let it because it feels sooooooo good!

I belong to the Metalheads because Metal empowers me.

But, I understand why I’m suspect to both sides. Both sides are misunderstood. Both sides are exclusionary from mainstream society and general acceptance. Both sides are strong, proud communities and so, both are feared. It’s not uncommon for Metalhead Clergy to be both single and solitary for this reason…

astarte_03

watain01Yet, what I find that some members of the Wiccan/Pagan community forgets is that of Her 10,000 faces, more than half of them are warriors. Durga, Bendis, Freya, Sekhmet, Ashtoreth, Kali-Ma, and the list goes on and on — these are not sugar-sweet-fluffy-bunny patronesses full of love, light, “let’s click our heels and go home” goddesses. These are badasses that would think nothing of tearing your village and your people to shreds if the cause is justified. These are champions, cunning and powerful, mysterious and skilled.

What some Metalheads seem to forget is you don’t have to be necessarily evil to be a badass. Our music is primal and violent, just as Nature is. But, just as with Nature, it must be balanced to survive. In the pit, it’s the one who helps up a brother/sister who gets the respect.

2275223546_3ffee6f8eeThere are many different paths and traditions in my faith and all of them, so long as they are Nature-based and connected to the Mystery, are acceptable. There are many different genres of Metal and all of them, so long as they identify themselves as such, are acceptable. The point of living as a Pagan is to live your natural truth, without fear. The point of being a Metalhead is to live your natural truth, without fear.

And as a Priestess, I represent all of Her faces, in my natural truth, without fear.

Yes, I do my best to live in kindness, caring, sharing, friendship, and loyalty. But, I am also a defender and in touch with my raw animal. I am in touch with my passion and make no apologies for feeling life, as well as living it. I sing and I scream. I feel Earth through the hand-drums of the ancient tribes and I feel the Earth in a double-bass onslaught. She is part of everything, all things friendly, opposing, beautiful, and frightening. She is the wind through the trees and the erupting volcano. She is tenderness and rage so therefore, guess what? Sure, She knows her aria…but you bet your ass She bangs Her head, too.

YOU’VE GOT DESIRE
SO LET IT OUT
YOU’VE GOT THE POWER
STAND UP AND SHOUT!
Ronnie James Dio (RIP)

10622805_410002762487892_553173569782476329_nHorns up! \m/…and Blessed Be! )O(

About T. Ray

Writer, visual artist, musician, divinationist, playwright, and "armchair nutritionist." She currently resides in Vegas with her jenday conure, is a member of the Society of Professional Journalists and is pursuing her Master's in Journalism/Media Studies. All things come down to food and Star Wars. Contact: contact@theblacksiren.com
This entry was posted in Energy, humanity / expression, Ms Ray and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Life as a Metalhead Priestess

  1. delaneycasey says:

    Who is the blue-skinned deity in the picture?

    Like

Leave a Reply

